First in 456 Years: A Lunar Eclipse on Winter Solstice

  • metta

    Posts: 39139

    Dec 20, 2010 11:06 AM GMT
    First in 456 Years: A Lunar Eclipse on Winter Solstice

    http://www.newser.com/story/107879/first-in-456-years-a-lunar-eclipse-on-winter-solstice.html




    http://science.nasa.gov/science-news/science-at-nasa/2010/17dec_solsticeeclipse/
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 20, 2010 12:53 PM GMT
    Lunar Eclispe times for the Americas:

    Partial eclipse starts:
    Dec 21 6:33 UT
    Dec 21 1:33 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
    Dec 21 12:33 a.m. Central Standard Time
    Dec 20 11:33 p.m. Mountain Standard Time
    Dec 20 10:33 p.m. Pacific Standard Time

    Total eclipse starts:
    Dec 21 7:41 UT
    Dec 21 2:41 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
    Dec 21 1:41 a.m. Central Standard Time
    Dec 21 12:41 a.m. Mountain Standard Time
    Dec 20 11:41 p.m. Pacific Standard Time

    Total eclipse ends:
    Dec 21 8:53 UT
    Dec 21 3:53 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
    Dec 21 2:53 a.m. Central Standard Time
    Dec 21 1:53 a.m. Mountain Standard Time
    Dec 21 12:53 a.m. Pacific Standard Time

    Partial eclipse ends:
    Dec 21 10:01 UT
    Dec 21 5:01 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
    Dec 21 4:01 a.m. Central Standard Time
    Dec 21 3:01 a.m. Mountain Standard Time
    Dec 21 2:01 a.m. Pacific Standard Time

    For Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Newfoundland etc: Total Eclipse is from 3:41 am to 4:53 am 21-12-2010

    Eastern Standard includes Cuba, Colombia, Panama

    For Brazil and Argentina its 4:41 to 5:53am 21-12-2010
    Alaska: 10:41 pm to 11:53 pm 20-12-2010
    Hawaii: 9:41 pm to 10:53 pm 20-12-2010

    It should be visible in parts of Australia, Indonesia, China, Russia, New Zealand and Japan... but I dont know the time zones there... should be from 5:41 pm 21st..., depending on the hemisphere... check for your timezone...

    Wont be visible in Europe or Africa... tough luck, bitches icon_razz.gif MWUAHAHAHA
  • coolarmydude

    Posts: 9190

    Dec 20, 2010 3:43 PM GMT
    2011 Eclipse schedule:

    Solar:
    4 January (Partial) starting at 8:51 UT visible to Europe, Africa, and Central Asia. I might see this one.

    1 June (Partial) starting at 21:17 UT visible to east Asia, upper N. America and Iceland

    1 July (Partial) at 8:39 UT visible to southern Indian Ocean

    25 November (Partial) at 6:21 UT visible to southern Africa, Tasmania and New Zealand


    Lunar:
    15 June (Total) at 20:12 UT visible to S. America, Europe, Africa, Asia and Australia

    10 December (Total) at 14:36 UT visible to Europe, east Africa, Asia, Australia and North America
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 20, 2010 3:45 PM GMT
    Mmmm nice i hope i can see it better with my telescope icon_biggrin.gif
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 20, 2010 6:28 PM GMT
    Its a sign....icon_eek.gif
  • HndsmKansan

    Posts: 16311

    Dec 20, 2010 6:48 PM GMT
    I knew it was coming up.. And since its full moon tonight.. makes sense.
    Should be awesome, but it will be early morning.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 1:23 AM GMT
    TRDMRK saidit annoys me OP to stupidly click on one of ur
    posts to then see the laziness on your part was
    so astounding that you make realjock a personal
    dump of your newfound links.. never again will
    i read a post created by you and i will make sure
    to not click on them in the main page. i will look
    in the all topics or posted section and look for
    your name.. and if it says it on there, i will not
    click.... because u r now added u to my ignore.


    As you are to mine lol you are not worth anyone's time with that attitude
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:30 AM GMT
    Reminder: "The bombing begins in 5 minutes."
    (For those on the East Coast.)

    (Um, who turned on the mic?
    Bombing, Eclipse, what's the difference!)
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:31 AM GMT
    Zoom: 30x, lens (not digital zoom, so quality is superb)
    Aperture: ??? (no adjustable)
    F-stop: 8.0
    Shutter Speed: 1/2000
    Anti-shake: On
    Tripod: Expensive
    High quality video of lunar eclipse: Priceless
    Borat.gif&t=1
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:32 AM GMT
    OOO paul... send it to me so Illmake a music video with it ;)
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:35 AM GMT
    amar_m saidOOO paul... send it to me so Illmake a music video with it ;)
    That was my idea...either that, or sell it to NASA. icon_wink.gif
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:37 AM GMT
    paulflexes said
    amar_m saidOOO paul... send it to me so Illmake a music video with it ;)
    That was my idea...either that, or sell it to NASA. icon_wink.gif


    Well we can BOTH make videos after all icon_razz.gif
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:41 AM GMT
    Well its raining here so i cant even see it. WAAH! icon_sad.gif
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:43 AM GMT
    damn this rain! ugh! i'd be at the observatory viewing this with the other geeks.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:52 AM GMT
    THE MOON IS BEING DEVOURED!
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 6:57 AM GMT
    I'm so pissed it's cloudy right now. I've never seen an eclipse before and now that I'm out here in the cold sitting on a snowy bench looking up at the sky... all I see is a red haze and cloudiness...

    OOOOOOOOOOOOO I SEE IT!!!!! It's 1/4 covered!

    Shit, now it's gone. Stupid Michigan and it's shitty weather.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 7:09 AM GMT
    shan37 saidTHE MOON IS BEING DEVOURED!
    Sorry, I got hungry.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 7:15 AM GMT
    laaaaaaame shit nothing in vancouver either
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 7:36 AM GMT
    It's really spooky, I had to go inside mysterious though drifters were walking through.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 7:37 AM GMT
    Goddamn it! It's raining all over SoCal right now and I'm going to miss it ):
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 7:45 AM GMT
    shan37 saidTHE MOON IS BEING DEVOURED!


    It really looks exaclty like a monster is eating the moon.. makes you wanna run and hide like a dog in a thunderstorm...scarry as shit
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 7:49 AM GMT
    Dear Midwest,

    Why the clouds right now? Seriously, what's your problem?
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 8:02 AM GMT
    Video transferring to computer...keeping my fingers crossed.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 8:07 AM GMT
    paulflexes saidVideo transferring to computer...keeping my fingers crossed.


    Keep taping, the eclipse takes up to two hours more to finish
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Dec 21, 2010 8:12 AM GMT
    amar_m said
    paulflexes saidVideo transferring to computer...keeping my fingers crossed.


    Keep taping, the eclipse takes up to two hours more to finish
    Gotta work tomorrow, and it's too cold to stand outside any longer. icon_lol.gif