Registering an out of state car in CA

  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Aug 31, 2012 11:56 PM GMT
    I just found out that when applying for CA tabs, I would have to pay sales tax on my car again! Well, I just paid about 2K here and Im not thrilled about paying that much again.
    Do I have any other options? Can I change the ownership to a family member and drive on WA tabs? I know the law is like a pole, you cant jump over it but you can get around it.
  • Import

    Posts: 7190

    Sep 01, 2012 1:02 AM GMT
    dude, I just registered my car in California about this time last year. I had Florida tags and had them changed over to California, once I got car insurance frm an agent in California. . All fees included cost me just under $500...

    unless the law has changed or something. I didn't have to pay taxes twice on my car, wtf
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 1:14 AM GMT
    Wah? Who told you that you had to pay sales tax? I believe that's only true if you're already a California resident and you bought a new car out of state. If you're a resident from another state moving to CA, then absolutely no.. you don't pay a sales tax.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 1:28 AM GMT
    SUCKA?!?!?!?

  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 1:37 AM GMT
    Pheeew Awesome *big happy face*

    Ive read it on some other forum that came up when I googled about relocation. It said you must register the car in 20 days after you get an address or late fees will be added. And im pretty sure that person who asked the question was relocating as well. Also someone mentioned that there are hotlines to rat out the ones with out of states plates, weird.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 1:48 AM GMT
    Yeah, there is a hotline for that. CA relies on vehicle registration fees to pay for a lot of public services, related to the streets/highways. So that shit is serious business around here. If you drive around here with NV or WA plates, the highway patrol will be instantly suspicious of you. icon_biggrin.gif
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 1:52 AM GMT
    Did you buy your car out of state and then moved to California in less than 1 year? I think have some penalties coming in for that despite not having been a California resident.

    I was well past my 20 days to register my car and when I went to their website I at first couldn't figure out why my estimated penalties were higher (using their tool) if I claimed I moved there within that 20 day window vs after. It was because I bought my car out of state and came to California within a year.

    Still haven't registered my car yet...so I think I'm going to face a big penalty when I finally register. Yikes!
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 1:54 AM GMT
    Well, even if the OP ends up paying CA sales tax, he should be able to get a refund from his previous state in the next tax season.
  • FRE0

    Posts: 4862

    Sep 01, 2012 2:08 AM GMT
    When I lived in San Diego (1978 - 1994), my next door neighbor had a car with Michigan plates. He kept his MI registration current because it cost less than to register in CA. Eventually he was caught and the penalties he had to pay were more than significant.

    When I moved to San Diego from Minneapolis, I had no problem registering my car in CA even though I had bought it new in MN a year before I moved. Unless it looks as though you bought the car out of CA in an attempt to escape higher CA taxes, you should have no trouble.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 2:18 AM GMT
    As I recall, if you can show you paid sales tax in another state, you won't have to pay in California. What they go after is California residents who buy out of state and bring a new car into California.

    This might be helpful. The site is undergoing maintenance and some functions don't seem to work such as registration fees. You can always call them if the web doesn't give specific information.

    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/newtoca/newtoca.htm
    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/brochures/howto/htvr9.htm#feesdue
    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/vr/newvehicle.htm

    Telephone
    Telephone: 1-800-777-0133 

Hearing Impaired: TTY 1-800-368-4327 

Call Center business hours are: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8 am to 5 pm, Pacific time and Wednesday, 9am to 5 pm, Pacific time.
  • Webster666

    Posts: 9217

    Sep 01, 2012 7:14 AM GMT
    From the CA DMV web site:

    Use Tax: Collected at the same rate as your California city of residence sales tax. Legislation requires payment of use tax on a vehicle purchased outside California and brought into California within 365 days of the purchase date.
    _________________________________________________

    If I understand this correctly, if you wait to register the car until it's more than 365 days old, you won't have to pay that particular tax.

    HOWEVER, the DMV rules say that you are required to register the car within (I think it's) 20 days of bringing the car into California.

    BUT, I'm thinking that you could drive the car in California, without getting it registered until it's at least 365 days old, then lie on the registration application, saying that you just brought it here (within the past 20 days).

    I'm not telling you to break the laws or the rules.
    Wink, wink.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 8:59 AM GMT
    do what webster says
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 10:19 AM GMT
    You don't HAVE to have your car registered until you have the "full intention of becoming a state resident" aka getting a job. If you're just moving there for school, the vehicle can remain with another state's tags. I just moved here myself and that's what I was told. Since I don't have a job yet they said I hadn't fulfilled the qualifications to be required to have my car registered.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 11:44 AM GMT
    This thread reminds me that living in a unitary state has distinct advantages.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 7:34 PM GMT
    Im getting confused now :/
    I actually bought the car from a CA a year ago then registered it and sales tax in WA less than a year, due to some paper issues.
  • Posted by a hidden member.
    Log in to view his profile

    Sep 01, 2012 7:35 PM GMT
    Webster666 saidFrom the CA DMV web site:

    Use Tax: Collected at the same rate as your California city of residence sales tax. Legislation requires payment of use tax on a vehicle purchased outside California and brought into California within 365 days of the purchase date.
    _________________________________________________

    If I understand this correctly, if you wait to register the car until it's more than 365 days old, you won't have to pay that particular tax.

    HOWEVER, the DMV rules say that you are required to register the car within (I think it's) 20 days of bringing the car into California.

    BUT, I'm thinking that you could drive the car in California, without getting it registered until it's at least 365 days old, then lie on the registration application, saying that you just brought it here (within the past 20 days).

    I'm not telling you to break the laws or the rules.
    Wink, wink.


    They would find out though, because I'm planning to get a job asap. Unless I can say I went back and brought the car recently...